Return to Headlines

Thirty-one HHS Students Qualify for National TSA Conference

Thirty-one students at Howell High School have not only qualified for the National Technology Student Association (TSA) Conference, but they have the distinction of earning a spot in school history as the largest qualifying group ever at Howell.

The students earned their spots at the New Jersey TSA Conference on April 13th at The College of New Jersey where high school students from around the state competed in over 30 events.

Howell’s winning students included:

Michael Brown, Jake Frontera, Tyler Spires, Alison Stanley, David Wagenblast and Lauren Winkley – 2nd Place  in 3D Animation

Alex Glebavicius, Raymond Luberto and Gregory Smith – 1st Place in Animatronics

Nicholas Bornkamp, Ethan Christopher, Edward Pieluc, Alison Stanley and Amanda Zelevansky – 3rd Place in Board Game Design

Joseph Brenner, Jeda Coward, Sean Hanily, Matt Rivaloro and Matt Walsh – 3rd Place in Engineering Design

Jake Frontera and Alison Stanley – 2nd Place in On Demand Video

Jake Frontera and Alison Stanley – 3rd Place in Music Production

Zackery Barkalow, Michael Brown, Zach Dave, Zachary Viray, Lauren Winkley and Connor Zumbo – 2nd Place in Optical Engineering

Liela Clarke, Justin Corbett, Matthew Foti and Hannah Steinwagner – 3rd Place in Optical Engineering

Edward Pieluc, Kayshiant Shankar and Zachary Witt – 2nd Place in System Control Technology

Zach Dave, Max Shaker, Nick Viola, David Wagenblast and Connor Zumbo – 1st Place in Webmaster

In addition, Nicholas Bornkamp (grade 12), Madison Dawson (grade 10) and Thomas Foti (grade 12) were inducted into the National Technology Honor Society.

The students who qualified for nationals will travel to Washington, D.C. this summer to compete with students from across the country.