Home / News and Updates / Learning Center/Academy / FRHSD Students Earn Awards at State Technology Conference

FRHSD Students Earn Awards at State Technology Conference

   By Rebecca Morton - Posted on 04 April 2014

Students from all six Freehold Regional High School District schools are recipients of prestigious awards issued during the recent 2014 Technology Student Association State Conference. The event was held at The College of New Jersey on April 2, 2014.

A team of four students from Manalapan High School (MNHS) including Harrison Goldstein, Jessica Freydman, Richard Ko, and John Klich won 1st place in the category of engineering design during the competition. This is the first year in several years that MNHS students have participated in the competition. “The charge of the team was to develop, by means of scientific innovation and methodical design, a technique for the deaf to communicate more easily. Recognizing the present availability of technologies which allow the hearing to communicate with the deaf, such as speech-to-text recognition software, the students endeavored to create a limited option to do the reverse,” shared Technology Teacher, Benjamin DeRuosi. That endeavor led to the creation of a utility for the deaf to use sign language and for it to be converted into readable English text. The tool was an actual glove which interprets sign language while worn and converts symbols into English characters to be displayed on a monitor.

The Technology Student Association (TSA) is the only student organization dedicated exclusively to the needs of technology education students. Open to students who are registered in, or who have completed, technology education courses, TSA is associated with 20,000 schools across 48 states.

Below is a complete listing of student awards and respective categories:

Structuring Engineering – Level 2-First Place
Colts Neck High School-Devin Gavrushenko and Noah Baker
Howell High School-Level 2-Third Place-Tyler Rota and Vincent Mortillaro

Technical Sketching and Application-Level 2-Second Place
Colts Neck High School- Andrew Blaskovich

Technology Bowl-Level 2-Second Place
Howell High School-James D’Angelo, Stephen Klein, and Weston Rivell

Video Game Design-Level 2-Second Place
Howell High School
Andre Langenberger, Arbaz Khan, Ira Matthews, Keoni Nguyen, Ryan Devosa, and Stephen Stillman

Dragster Design
Howell High School-Level 2-Second Place-David Megill
Marlboro High School-Level 2-Third Place-Trevor Wood

Manufacturing Prototype-Level 2-Third Place
Howell High School-Arbaz Khan, Ira Matthews, and Ryan Devosa

On Demand Video- Level 2- Second Place
Freehold High School- Chatiya Shah

Photographic Technology
Freehold High School- Level 2- Second Place- (1 student)
Marlboro High School-Level 2-Third Place-Lara Delatorre

Extemporaneous Speech-Level 2-First Place
Freehold Township High School-ChristopherLeonardi

Future Technology Teacher-Level 2- Second Place-Andrew Borchardt

Engineering Design-Level 2-First Place
Manalapan High School-Harry Goldstein, Jessica Freydman, John Klich, and Richard Ko

Desktop Publishing-Level 2-Third Place
Marlboro High School-Brook Kaminski

Promotional Graphics-Level 2 Third Place
Marlboro High School-Natalie Tse

Home | About Us | Calendar | News | Board of Education | Superintendent | Business | Curriculum and Instruction
Guidance and Operations | Personnel | Planning, Research, Evaluation | Special Services | Transportation | Contact


The Freehold Regional High School District shall provide equal and bias-free access for all pupils to all school facilities, courses, programs, activities, and services,
regardless of race, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, age, marital status, affectional or sexual orientation, gender, religion, disability, or socioeconomic status.
Click here to learn more.

 Latest News

Copyright © 2015, Freehold Regional High School District. All rights reserved.